Read on, Part II

Langston Hughes was one of the most well-known poets, novelist, playwrights in American history. In honor of Black History Month –  and to once again highlight the importance of reading, this here is The Best of Simple based on the created character of Jesse B. Semple.

You read a few of these and you’ll say to yourself, I swear I know a dude just like this! Here’s a little excerpt to work with:

Watch yourself! Have you no respect for women?” “I have nothing but respect for a figure like that,” said Simple. “Miss, your mama must of been sweet sixteen when she borned you. Sixteen divided by two, you come out a figure 8! Can I have a date? Hey, Lawdy, Miss Claudy! You must be deaf–you done left! I’m standing here by myself.”

“Come on, boy, let’s go on in the bar and put that door between me and temptation. If the air cooler is working, the treat’s on me. Let’s investigate. Anyhow, I always did say if you can’t be good, be careful. If you can’t be nice, take advice. If you don’t think once, you can’t think twice.”

Keep it smooth.

IMG_3767

Leave a Reply

