Chivalry

Chivalry, that old fashioned word that has defined many a gentleman across many countless societies.  The word always sounded so regal, sophisticated and maybe elitist.  For me, I believe one thing comes to mind when we think about that word. What exactly does that word mean? I still don’t have a grasp for it in our modern society.  Fortunately I can figure this out and maybe, just maybe this will help other guys out in their pursuit of the gentleman standard.

Merriam-Webster’s dictionary defines chivalry as: mounted men-in-arms, archaic, gallant or distinguished gentlemen, the system spirit or customs of medieval knighthood.

Okay.  I can tell you right now I am not a knight or belong to any knighthood.  As a matter of fact, I don’t know of anyone under the age of 40 who is and if they are it’s not like they are fighting battles in full on chain mail and armor. Now, gallant or distinguished gentlemen seems more of an appropriate definition for the modern day smooth guy, one that I’m sure gets overlooked.  I can see a lady minding her business and all of a sudden that smooth guy walks past her down the street she thinks in her mind and says out loud, “That’s one chivalrous looking dude”.  Maybe, just maybe the concept of chivalry might actually be useful in the 21st century.  I’ll try the word out on some friends, male and female and see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

